Picks of the Week – 8/17/15

Our lifts aren’t going to look perfect all of the time.  There’s no way around it.  Being able to realize when something needs to be corrected is a big part of getting better though.  I was a bit hesitant to show this video because it’s a bit cringe-worthy, but I wanted to highlight a couple things I was doing wrong so other people could learn from it..

First of all, the platform was too high.  Because I couldn’t get into a good starting position, I should have reduced the deficit.  I also need to focus on keeping my chest up, weight back, and setting my lats.  A good cue that helps me set my lats is trying to put my shoulder blades in my back pockets.  This will help me prevent my shoulders from rounding and maintain more of a neutral spine.  We’ll see if I can transfer these corrections to my deficit work this week.

recommended reading

12 Ways to Know if You Should Include an Exercise in a Strength Training Program via Eric Cressey

Exercise selection is arguably the most important variable to consider when constructing a strength training program.  The points posed in this article will help you understand whether or not an exercise is appropriate for your clients’ or your own goals.  Everything that’s included should be for a specific reason.

The Best Answers to Your Clients’ Top 10 Nutrition Questions via Precision Nutrition

Beginning a new nutritional program can be overwhelming if you aim to make a complete overhaul.  If you’ve ever wondered where to begin, if you should count calories, or if Paleo is the answer to your weight management goals, I highly recommend checking out this article.

Strength Training Program Design: The Definitive Guide via Syatt Fitness

If you write your own programs or even use ones that you find online, this post is a great tool to help you audit your routine and ensure you’re setting yourself up for success.  Jordan covers everything from assessments, to exercise selection, training frequency, and different types of splits.

List of Lower Body Progressions via Bret Contreras

Progression and regression (and lateralization) are paramount to being able to coach a client through basic movement patters like the hip hinge, squat, and glute bridge.  This guide is a great reference for new trainers and anyone struggling with a certain movement in their programs.

Why Working Out Causes Weight Gain via Precision Nutrition

Do you ever feel the need to reward yourself with an unhealthy treat after a hard workout?  I’m not adamantly against it, but it could be a part of why your efforts have stalled.  Believe it or not, our mentality when working out can have a huge impact on our desire to indulge afterwards.  Thinking of it as a chore can yield vastly different results than going in with a positive mindset.

Have a great week!

Leave a comment